Construction National

Magazine, Online Directory and Web Design Service


Last updateMon, 01 Jul 2024 10am

ASFP announces the 2023 PFP Award winners

PR300 Award Winners FINAL 002The Association for Specialist Fire Protection announced the winners for its 2023 Passive Fire Protection (PFP) Awards on 23 November at the Association’s Awards Dinner at the Leonardo Royal Hotel in London.

ASFP Managing Director Mike Ward was joined by guest speaker, comedian Hal Cruttenden, to present the awards to each worthy winner. The winners are:

  • ASFP Installation of the Year: Coopers Fire for its work in the Great Mosque of Mecca, Mataf Tunnels, installing a series of automated smoke curtains to separate vehicular access from pedestrian access. The project included the longest smoke curtains ever installed by Coopers Fire, with the largest continual run being 927m. The judges felt that Coopers Fire demonstrated an outstanding level of technical detail in overcoming the challenges faced. Runners up: Firesafe Installations and Oak Fire Protection.
  • Passive Fire Protection Innovation of the Year: The Colt EI60S Defender F2 smoke control damper which offers architects and interior designers a discreet and aesthetic smoke control damper that meets all the requirements of EN12101-8. The judges commend the unique design that ensures, when closed, only a thin rectangular outline is visible in the wall. Runners up: Injectaclad and ARC Building Solutions.
  • Marketing Campaign of the Year: Global HSE Solutions’ whiteboard animations campaign which offers a unique approach to sharing fire safety knowledge and understanding across all marketing channels. The campaign was recognised for its ability to convey critical fire safety messages without relying on extensive text and for catering to audiences of varying levels. Runners up: Nullifire and FSi
  • Best Customer Service: Gunfire received this award for demonstrating exceptional customer service, through their strategic initiative and showcasing their dedication to exceeding expectations. Runners up: Onetrace and Quelfire
  • Training and Development of the Year: Checkmate Fire for demonstrating their commitment to training and ongoing competency of all their staff and others carrying out work on their behalf, via in-house training facilities and a clear and well documented strategy. Runners up: Quelfire and Novus Property Solutions.
  • Highest Engagement of the Year: Checkmate Fire also received this award for having the highest level of engagement with the ASFP websites and CRM, as well as taking part in Association marketing campaigns, events, committees and training. Runners up: Sherwin Williams and CCF.
  • Individual Rising Star of the Year: Nathan Hassell of Novus Property Solutions received this prestigious award for new entrants to the industry. He has shown adaptability to new roles and responsibilities, drive and determination to developing his skillset, knowledge, and industry understanding. Runners up: CLM Fireproofing’s Harry Botten; and Global HSE Solutions’ Alex Griffiths.
  • Academic Accomplishment awards for the highest scoring IFE examination results went to Mike Goslin of Trox UK at Level 2; and Sophie Ahearn of Nullifire for Level 3.
  • Lifetime Contribution: Wilf Butcher was recognised for his influence in developing the passive fire protection sector and growing the ASFP into the professional Association we see today. Wilf, who was CEO from 2007-2016, was particularly praised for his role in introducing and developing the ASFP’s training function, which allowed ASFP to reach out to the wider construction sector, as well as generating regular income to enable it to pursue its aim of improving the quality of designed and installed passive fire protection.
  • Longest Serving Members: Sika and Fire Protection Coatings Limited were recognised for having achieved 20 years of membership of the ASFP.
  • Advocate of the Year: Allister Smith of Aviva for his long support for the passive sector and the ASFP, including offering venues for ASFP events

In another new initiative, the ASFP introduced the ASFP Gold badge, which will be awarded to all who have committed their time and efforts to the Association at the highest level. This was awarded to all past ASFP Chairs and CEOs including: Wilf Butcher; Clive Atkins; Carl Atkinson; Roger Williams; Chris Miles; Clive Miles; Niall Rowan; and Steve Davies.

ASFP Managing Director Mike Ward offered his congratulations to all those who had entered the awards, as well as praising the winning individuals and companies:

“Tonight, we celebrated the achievements of ASFP members, at an event with over 400 members and guests in attendance. I cannot think of a better endorsement of the Association's success than seeing you all here. This is your success.

“These Awards highlight excellence in passive fire protection and reward all those who advance the sector. As in past years, all the entries are of the very highest standard and clearly demonstrate the excellent work, expertise, professionalism and commitment of our member companies and the accomplishments of our individual members. I congratulate all those who were shortlisted and particularly those who received an award.

“But we must also recognise that we are all winners. We are part of the ASFP, an association which has seen exponential growth in membership, training, engagement, reach and voice, as well as influence across all stakeholders within design, construction and occupation. As an Association, we are going in the right direction, improving the quality of passive fire protection and raising awareness across the built environment, which will be to the benefit of all.”  

The ASFP was also delighted to announce that the event raised an astounding £6075 for the ASFP’s chosen charity, the Children’s Burns Trust.

For further information on the ASFP and for passive fire protection advice, visit